top of page

2021 Project Wrap-Up


A 3-by-3 grid of Instagram photos
Top 9 Instagram posts from 2021

What a year, huh? It managed to be both better and worse than 2020 was. Looking back on 2021, I feel like I barely did any sewing at all, but that's not true. I did a decent amount of sewing up until September (hello promotion with a higher hour requirement). But let's dig into my sewing this year.


Goals

I had three goals this year: stash busting, making an 1890s corset, and making Regency headwear.


The corset and Regency headwear goals were both very well accomplished, if I do say so myself.


Stashbusting is a bit more complicated. On the one hand, I only bought two new cuts of fabric, and they were both used immediately for a project (the corset and some shorts). On the other hand, I barely made a dent in my stash, and even inherited some more fabric from my grandmother. So I think my net stash bust/gain is about zero.



Project Round-Up

  • 18th century pieced pockets (all stash materials, mostly hand sewn with some machine work on the binding)

  • Blue brocade reticule (machine sewn with less than stellar results)

  • Light blue Regency bonnet (millinery kit with stash fashion fabric, hand sewn)

  • Hair and clothes for Adelaide, a cloth doll (stash fabric, hand sewn)

  • Disassembled & reassembled a #gaptothepast blouse (machine sewn)

  • Sheer drapes for the living room (a big chunk of my stash, machine sewn)

  • 1890s corset (bought fabric, machine sewn)

  • Red Regency ribbon bodice (bought ribbon, hand sewn)

  • Blue Regency ribbon bodice (bought ribbon, hand sewn)

  • Decorated a straw Regency bonnet (ribbon leftover from bodice, hand sewn)

  • "Boardwalk Duet" top and shorts (stash for the bodice, bought for the shorts, machine sewn)

  • Olivia's 18th century pockets (stash fabric, machine sewn)

  • Fall dress for Adelaide (stash fabric, hand sewn)

  • Alterations to green/black double-knit dress (thrifted dress, machine sewn)

  • Mini work smock for Oscar (donated fabric, machine sewn)


Altogether, I managed to knock a whopping four (4) projects off my project goal list for this year, which is... not a lot. Five if you count my chemisette wip. But I did give myself a very aspirational 15-project list. My project goal list for next year will just have to be shorter/more realistic. If I set the bar lower, it should be easier to reach, right?


That's not to say I'm not proud of my work this year, though. I made a corset for the first time ever and it turned out well! I actually wear it as back support when I know I'll be at my desk at home all day. I got into millinery for the first time too, with much success. I went from having no Regency headwear to having two lovely bonnets!


So what will the next year hold? I can't know for certain, but that won't stop me from making plans!



I hope that, whatever happened this year, you find some joy to take into the new year. Take care of yourself.


Stay warm. Stay safe. Stay healthy.


9 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page