top of page

2021 - Project Goals


A stack of stash fabric

Last year I finished a dream project of mine (the white Regency dress). This year I'd like to expand my Regency wardrobe with some help from my stash and lay the groundwork (or the foundation) for getting into the late 1890s.


I also have a new-to-me sewing machine! It's a Singer 5825 (if memory serves) and will need a suitably musical name and probably a professional cleaning. It has a LOT more knobs and levers than I'm used to!


What follows is an absurdly aspirational list of project ideas for 2021. *Top priority projects are starred.



Regency Era

I've got a solid basic garment, decent underthings, and some nice jewelry, so it's time to expand my wardrobe and level up! I also intend to purchase a pair of long gloves and silk stockings this year.


  • *A Chemisette - I intend to use fabric left over from my white dress for this, and one of the patterns from the AD Guide.

  • *Open Robe with Removable Sleeves - I have a silk-like fabric in my stash that would look stunning for the American Duchess/Simplicity 8941 pattern! I'll make the sleeves removable for maximum versatility.

  • Open Robe 2 with Short Sleeves - I've got a plum-colored striped poly taffeta that would look lovely for an open robe like this. Patterning it could be a fun challenge!

  • *Headwear - I have my eye on a straw bonnet which I would decorate, but I may also make a turban, or even dive into millinery with a Timely Tresses kit or an Out of a Portrait pattern.

  • Reticules - I have two poly damask scraps that would be fun as reticules, and plenty of other scrap fabric too. Any I make will be lined in scrap cotton.

  • Vest/Spencer/Bodice - I have a lot of stash fabrics that enough to make a spencer - yet alone a dress - but they would make excellent bodices to wear over my white dress!



1895-1905-ish

Time for a new era! I've always adored turn-of-the-century fashions, but I know that I'll need proper foundations before I start planning anything else, so this is my entry point to this era.


  • *Corset - This will be the most structural piece and my first foray into corsetry! I intend to start this right away and give myself all year to finish. I'm currently looking at patterns in the Symington collection as a starting point.

  • Combinations - Definitely of the split-leg variety, with lots of ruffles and lace. I think I'll use either Truly Victorian's E02 Edwardian Underwear pattern or Folkwear 203 Edwardian Underthings.

  • Corset Cover - Using the same pattern, probably.

  • Small Bustle/Bum and Hip Pad - I'm not curvy in the slightest, so I'll need some... extra help. Something like this or this (or maybe I'll just buy one of those.) Virgil's Fine Goods also has a hip and bum pad pattern out.

  • Bust Enhancer - Again, sometimes the proper silhouette requires some added enhancements. Wearing History has this e-pattern for a "Bust Improver."

  • *The GapToThePast blouse - I bought it, took it apart with the intention of improving the sleeves... and then didn't.



Misc.

  • *1930s Bra and Tap Pants - I bought Reconstructing History's 1336 awhile ago and just never got around to it. I'll start with a wearable mockup from stash fabric, but I might eventually do a set from nicer fabric.

  • 18th Century Shirt - Truly a classic. I think I deserve one. I think it would improve my life. I want to splurge on linen.

  • Handkerchiefs - I already have some nice handkerchief-sized pieces of white cotton set aside from when I made my neckerchief/fichu. They just need to be hemmed and embroidered.

13 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page