top of page

2022 Wrap-Up


a woman wearing pale purple 1920s combinations, seen from neck to hip
The 1920s combinations I made from an old attempt at a dress

I have had one hell of a year. I left the job I've been at (on and off) for seven and a half years, and finally got a job in the field I have a degree in. I finally bought a car. I had to replace that car's radiator. I moved clear across town and now have to take care of all the household duties myself.


My sewing has suffered for it. I accomplished very, very little this year, which I feel even more frustrated about because I set myself a very, very low bar and I still missed it. This post is quickly becoming a bummer though, so let's jump into it.








2022 Goals and Results

a woman in Regency costume pictured from the waist up
My DAR vest, work with my white Regency dress, ruffled chemisette, and new jewelry

Regency

This year, I wanted to expand my wardrobe with a habit-style chemisette, an open robe, and some smaller accessories like vests and bodices, reticules, and some new headwear.


I made two new reticules right at the beginning of the year, and I really like them!


I also made the DAR vest and an over bodice in the same fabric I've already used to make a reticule and a bonnet.


In non-sewing projects, I made myself another simple jewelry set - a necklace, bracelet, and pair of earrings in deep blue glass beads. I stumbled on some very fun red teardrop-shaped beads that were a near-match for my faux coral jewelry set, so I used some spare beads from the original set to make another pair of earrings.


1890s

My only real goal for my 1890s wardrobe this year was combinations. I got them mostly cut out, but sadly that's as far as I got.


I have, however, made many plans for my 1890s wardrobe, including picking a color scheme and a selection of patterns, and I've expanded my 1890s pinterest board considerably.


a woman dressed in white and light blue Regency evening wear
Dressed for a Regency dance in my new light blue bodice and matching reticule

Misc

I had one goal for my modern wardrobe this year - a casual warm-weather dress. While I didn't sew one, I did buy a suitable white dress and dyed it a lovely shade of blue. So I'm considering that goal achieved.


I also made a modern bralette this spring and some vaguely 1930s undergarments - a bralette and shorts. Over the summer, I turned an old, too-small attempt at a 1920s house dress into combinations. Then, in the fall, I made a cotton garment bag for what I suspect to be a home-sewn silk dress from the late 1920s or early 30s. It originally belonged to my great-grandmother Elinor. My grandmother kept it, and gave it to me this year when we discovered that it fit me perfectly!


Speaking of my grandmother, I also made some alterations to three or four of her favorite shirts so they fit her better, and I'm currently/still working on another one. I did not enjoy these projects because of the sheer amount of seam ripping I had to do. Please never ask me to alter a store-bought garment ever again.


Summary

Ok, so while I didn't do much sewing this year, I did do some things. And while I'm not thrilled with the number of projects I completed, I am happy with how each project turned out.


Hopefully, 2023 will be a year filled with sewing motivation.


Until then,

Stay warm. Stay safe. Stay healthy.

14 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page