top of page

2020 Wrap-Up


A photo of a seated woman from the waist up dressed in a Regency outfit against a blue draped background.

This hell year is finally ending, so I wanted to look back at my successes from this year.


Goals

Back in January, I set some sewing goals for myself. My goals were not project-based this year, though that will be changing next year, as you'll see soon.


Goal 1: Stash busting. I did really well with this goal! While my stash isn't significantly smaller, it also wasn't overly large to begin with. Only two projects (my white Regency dress and its petticoat) used exclusively new materials, but that dress has been in the planning stage for upwards of six years so I don't feel the slightest bit bad about it.


Goal 2: Better habits in general, including pressing my seams and not sewing over pins.

I am pleased to announce that I have been pressing all of my seams this year. Unfortunately this led to me finally killing my mom's 25-year-old iron, but I bought a new one which was exciting in its own way.


I think I was good about not sewing over pins too, but it's been a few months since I did any machine sewing and I can't remember. I definitely think about it more, though, so there's that.


Goal 3: Learn embroidery.

I have some embroidery experience, but I jumped at the chance to learn more when a friend pointed me toward "Take a Stitch Tuesday" from PinTangle. Each Tuesday is a chance to learn a new embroidery stitch/technique. I got behind sometimes, but I always caught up!



What did I learn?

Now, better habits isn't the only thing I gained this year. I learned a lot of new skills too!


My first new skill this year was buttonholes. And in the "go big or go home" mindset, my first project of the year involved twelve of them, and I did five more across two different projects later in the year.


Skill number 2 was a zipper. I have never sewn a zipper before in my life, but I managed to set an invisible zipper correctly on the first try! It's amazing what you can do when you read the instructions instead of winging it.


Skills 3 & 4 are using a gridded pattern and (drastically) altering a pattern. I used a gridded pattern as the base for my Regency dress. It was taken from an extant garment, so it was only one size and required some adjustments to fit me. There's also the fact that I was going for a different sort of closure and had to make some additional alterations.



Project Round-Up

  • The "Girl Detective" Dress (machine construction, hand finishing, needs minor alterations)

  • A small pillow from the remnants of my curtains (machine sewing)

  • Green Regency dress alterations (hand and machine sewing)

  • 49 masks - seven to donate, the rest for me and my family (machine sewing)

  • Vintage Simplicity skirt (machine construction, hand finishing)

  • Sewed 22 decorative patches onto my denim jacket

  • 1920s brassiere

  • Regency petticoat (machine sewing)

  • Additional boning for Regency short stays (handsewn)

  • Adding buttonholes and a drawstring to my sibling's pajama pants (handsewn)

  • Faux coral jewelry set - A matching necklace, bracelet, and earrings made using faux red coral beads

  • White Regency dress (handsewn)

  • 18th century neckerchief/Regecy fichu (handsewn)

  • Pieced 18th century pockets (started, but unfinished)

  • Doll-sized shift and petticoat

  • Followed along with "Take a Stitch Tuesday" (a weekly embroidery challenge) from Pintangle



My creativity and motivation really came in waves this year. The mini pillow, 50s skirt, 20s bra, and some masks were all done in the month of May. Then nothing in June. Then my Regency petticoat and green dress alterations in July and the entire white Regency dress and more masks in August and the first week of September. Later in September I started a pair of heavily pieced 18th century pockets, but it's now December and they're still not done.


I have hope for next year, though. I intend to start strong with some simple machine sewn projects for the sake of stash busting and immediate gratification (namely curtains and pillowcases), then get back to historical sewing (but you'll hear more about that soon ;) ).


I also have a new sewing machine to get acquainted with! I've been using my mother's machine up till now, but back in August I received a second-hand machine from a friend's grandmother (who is in good health, she just wanted a new machine for herself, and my friend already has a machine of his own). It's a different brand than my mother's is and has a lot more knobs and levers, so it's a little intimidating!



I hope you find something positive to hold on to from this year, and I hope you have something to look forward to in the coming year. Take care of yourself and take care of each other.


Stay warm. Stay safe. Stay healthy.

8 views0 comments

Hozzászólások


bottom of page