top of page

Vintage Simplicity 4414


Back in February, I bought a vintage 1950s skirt pattern off Etsy, Simplicity 4414. The pattern is for a six-panel skirt with two pleats in the front and some topstitched details. The pattern claims to have two versions of the skirt, but the only difference is that one version has belt loops (or "belt carriers," as the pattern calls them). The skirt closes at one side seam with a zipper or snaps.


I decided to go with the belt loop version and add a pocket to the side seam without the zipper. I had some khaki-colored fabric in my stash (possibly a cotton twill?) that worked perfectly for this pattern and picked out a cute button (also from my stash) for the waistband.


The pattern is for a 28 inch waist, but I'm more of a 29. I did some math and decided that if I made all the seams 1/2" instead of 5/8" it would be fine.


I read through the instructions and rewrote them in a slightly different order so that I could do as much sewing as possible, then as much ironing as possible, and repeat. (My ironing board is currently also functioning as my sewing table, and moving the sewing machine around is a hassle.)



The skirt came together quickly and easily! The back panels get sewn together, then the front panels, each with its side of the pocket. Then the front is folded and ironed to make the pleats and the topstitching is added. I decided to give the back seams topstitching too, and finished those seams by making them welt seams. Two birds, one stone.


After that you can do up the side seams and add the zipper. I found a white invisible zipper in my stash (hooray for stash busting!) and followed the instructions it came with to set it. I've never sewn a zipper before, but this turned out extremely well and I'm proud of myself!


Next is the waistband, which is attached by machine to the outside of the skirt, then folded over and slip stitched to the inside. I realized as I attached the waistband that the skirt was actually slightly larger than I needed! It was too late to take in the skirt anywhere, so I settled for gathering/easing the back panels of the skirt in a bit before attaching the waistband, and that worked pretty well.


The waistband was finished with a pretty button and hand sewn buttonhole and then I hemmed the skirt. The hem was turned in a half inch, then another inch and a half, and hand sewn with tiny, barely visible stitches.


I finished all the seams (except for the two back panel seams) with a mock french seam. The raw edges were turned to each other and I whip stitched them together.


Then I was done!


The pattern was super simple and worked up fast! I do regret making smaller allowances because, even after easing in the back of the skirt, the waist was still looser on me than I usually like. I also had to shorten the skirt dramatically! The pattern originally came down to my ankles, though that did include two inches for the hem. I measured myself and two skirts whose length I like and shortened the skirt accordingly. I ended the topstitching on the front pleats further up to compensate.


I have a stiff navy blue fabric that I'd like to make this skirt out of, now that I know I like the pattern. It's quick to make and nice enough to wear professionally.



14 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page