top of page

2022 Project Goals


An arrangement of fabric, patterns, and sewing notions
My supplies for this year

My list for 2021 basically contained every project I could think of. It was incredibly aspirational, but not very realistic. So this year I'm trying a different approach - short and sweet. I'm looking at my list for 2021, what I did and didn't accomplish, and what my priorities are for 2022.


My main goal for this year is expanding my Regency wardrobe and continuing to build the foundations for my 1890s dreams. So let's get into it!








Regency

  • A chemisette - I finished a ruffly chemisette just before the new year, but I'd like a habit-style chemisette as well.

  • An open robe - I have the American Duchess/Simplicity 8941 pattern and 6yds of 'silk' in my stash. I'd really love to make the sleeves removable for added versatility!

  • Etc. - Other small projects include vests/bodices, reticules, or a turban, all of which would be stash projects. (At the time of writing this, I've already finished two reticules!)

1890s

  • Combinations - Ok, I actually want early Edwardian combinations because I think they're prettier and it's underwear so I don't care that it's "inaccurate". I've just bought the Truly Victorian's E02 Edwardian Underwear pattern. I inherited an unknown length of white cotton that might work well (though I don't know how much I have), and I already have some lace and ribbon set aside.

  • Etc. - If I get the combinations done, next on the list would be bum/hip pads, a bust improver, and a corset cover. These could probably be made from what's left of the mystery white fabric I intend to use for the combinations.

Misc.

  • More doll clothes for Adelaide, my cloth doll - I already have a bundle of scrap fabric set aside for her and some cute ideas, so we'll see what happens!

  • A casual spring/summer dress for my modern wardrobe - the half dozen dresses I have in my modern wardrobe are either cold-weather dresses or slightly too formal for most occasions. I'm considering view C or D of Simplicity 8914 or a stripey late-1910s/early-1920s-inspired dress. Either way, I would have to buy fabric for this project.



See? A very restrained and much more realistic set of goals.


There are really only three "big" projects on here (the open robe, combinations, and summer dress), and those would all start from a pattern. This list is also mostly stash projects, so we'll see if I can get through 2022 without buying much fabric! And hey, I've already got two small projects under my belt.



Whatever your plans are for the new year, I wish you the best!

Stay warm. Stay safe. Stay healthy.

13 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page