top of page

Project Catch-Up and the Event That Wasn't


A photo of Alex in a white Regency dress with a blue bodice standing next to a table with various accessories on it

My goodness, this year is flying! While I have been very motivated to plan (or at least dream of) some sewing projects, the motivation to actually sew has been... minimal. I've managed a few projects, though!


I made a second bodice from Decades of Style's "Boardwalk Duet" pattern. The fabric is a printed cotton from the stash I inherited from my grandmother, and the lining is a light blue cotton from my own stash. I had actually cut out the pieces last summer before I moved, but I didn't sew it until early February this year. It was a quick project, though - came together over three or four evenings.


Next was a 1940s "camiknicker"/slip from a Mrs. Depew Vintage pattern. That was made from a weird but almost silky pink polyester fabric from my stash. That was also a pretty quick project that I worked on in the evenings the week of Valentine's Day.


Last, but not least, I altered my Regency petticoat. The hem was, originally, a mere 45" around, which made it difficult to walk. I added another rectangular panel and a triangular gore and DOUBLED the hem circumference! At 70", it now fits perfectly under the 72" hem of my dress. The combination of the triangular gore and concentrating most of the waistband pleating toward the back means that the whole thing swishes wonderfully behind me as I move, while maintaining the narrow silhouette.


I've known my Regency petticoat would need altering basically since I finished it and realized how narrow it was. I would have kept putting it off, except that I received word of a Regency ball happening sort-of close to me!


Ok, it was advertised as a Jane Austen Ball. And it's an hour's drive away. But a ball is a ball, and there was the opportunity to learn English Country Dances, AND costumes (or at least formal attire) were highly encouraged, and tickets were only $15. Yes, please!


I ironed my white dress, altered my petticoat, and picked out my accessories so I knew I was prepared.


The day of the event was a windy one - gusts of 30-50 mph! But I really wanted to go, so I got dressed and spent the better part of an hour on my hair (hair and makeup are my biggest weaknesses). Meanwhile, I'm getting texts from my parents about store signs being blown down and from my sibling about the awning at their job being "not where it's supposed to be," and from friends about their power being out. I'm seeing neighboring houses missing shingles and gutters. And, I'm sad to say, I chickened out of driving in that wind.


I had checked the weather for the area where the ball was being held and the winds were no better there. Driving an hour in that wind just seemed too dangerous, not to mention driving back hours later while I was tired and the winds were worse.


So I stayed home.


I was already dressed, though, and determined to make the most of it, so I threw together a little photoshoot!



I'm bummed that I missed the event, but glad that I stayed safe and got these lovely photos!


Now, if things go well it won't be three months until my next blog post, so until then,

Stay warm. Stay safe. Stay healthy.

コメント


bottom of page