top of page

Regency Wardrobe - Selecting Fabric


This first week of summer break hasn't been the non-stop sewing week I had planned, but that's okay! In the meantime, I've been looking over the fabric swatches I ordered a few weeks ago for my white dress. I looked for voiles and lawns in natural fibers, as suggested by Historical Sewing. The way I figure it, I can undo and redo cutting and stitching, but I can't change out the fabric without starting over. I want to pick a good fabric the first time. So, I ordered six different swatches from three different sellers.

First, Cotton Lawn from Dharma Trading Co. It's 100% cotton, 56/57" wide, $5.26/yard. Translucent, with a nice consistent weave. It's very soft, but feels stiff in a way I suspect will lessen once it's washed. Definitely a good option.

Second, White Solid Cotton Lawn from Mood Fabrics. Another 100% cotton, 56/57" wide. It's $5.49/yard. Also very soft and translucent, not as stiff. The fiber/weave isn't as consistent and I can see small fibers standing out, which is likely why it's so soft. Currently my first choice for the white dress.

Third, White Silk and Cotton Voile from Mood Fabrics. It's 60% silk, 40% cotton, 54" wide, $17.99/yard (and currently sold out). Borderline transparent, very soft and light. The silk gives it a bit of a sheen, but it's not shiny. A decent option for a fichu or chemisette.

Next, White Cotton Voile from Renaissance Fabrics. 100% cotton, 56” wide, $5.50/yard (and out of stock). Light and transparent, soft. Will be my top choice for a fichu or chemisette if they restock.

Then, White Handkerchief Linen/Cotton from Renaissance Fabrics. 60% linen, 40% cotton, 53” wide, $10/yard. Not quite opaque. Very stiff though. Don’t think it’s an option for any of my Regency stuff, except for maybe a petticoat. It’s not soft enough for a chemise and it isn’t sturdy enough for stays.

And finally, White Cotton/Linen from Renaissance Fabrics. 55% linen, 45% cotton, 44” wide, $6.50/yard (sold out). Same issues as the handkerchief linen/cotton, but it’s stiffer and more opaque. Not an option for this project.

So, ideally, I’ll be ordering I’ll be ordering 5-6 yards of the Cotton Lawn from Dharma Trading Co. or Mood Fabrics for the dress. If Renaissance restocks the Cotton Voile, I’ll order 2-3 yards for a fichu and some chemisettes. I might still order a yard of the Silk and Cotton Voile from Mood Fabrics to make more though, if they restock.

I’ve cut out most of the pieces for my chemise and petticoat, and I plan to start sewing those and the shawl next week. I’ll also likely order fabric for the dress soon!

Stay warm. Stay safe. Stay dry.

Alexandra

7 views0 comments
bottom of page