top of page

Starting my Regency Wardrobe - Part 1


I recently finished a book that was given to me by a coworker, and that book has thrown me back into a Regency mood. A great deal of research later and I've decided to attempt to make myself a neat little Regency wardrobe, aiming for something around 1810-ish.

My plan, as of right now, is to have

- a full set of underthings (chemise, short stays, bodiced petticoat)

- a morning dress and apron

- a white bib-front day dress

- a silk/sheer overdress and accessories (shawl,reticule, gloves) for evening events

- at least one coordinating spencer, bonnet, pair of gloves, and reticule

- at least one pelisse, open robe, or overdress

- a few chemisettes, fichus, and shawls

So maybe it won't be very "little." But, I'm already off to a decent start! A few years ago I had bought myself Simplicity 4055 and made dress B in almost the exact same shade of dark green, which I desperately need to get pictures of. I'll need to add some hooks and eyes to the back (the pattern only had the neck and waist drawstrings as closures) but it should do well as a morning dress. I'm glad I bought the pattern then, as it is no longer in print.

Speaking of patterns, I also impulse bought Butterick B6074 the other day. My only defense is that it was on sale for less than three dollars. Unfortunately, both of it's dress patterns close only via drawstrings, and neither of them are bib-fronts. Oh well. I'll figure something out.

As for the evening overdress, I discovered about 1/3 of a yard of gorgeous dark blue silk! It should do for the bodice and a small reticule. The skirt will be a nice sheer something with a nice border or something.

Part 2 will be the plan for the underthings and should be up momentarily!

13 views0 comments
bottom of page