top of page

"100 Years of Fashion Illustration" Review

For my birthday last spring, my aunt gave me a book called "100 Years of Fashion Illustration" by Cally Blackman. The book looks at fashion illustrations from 1900 through about 2005. It is divided into four sections, each prefaced with a few pages of cultural context, and has an Introduction and a list of additional reading.

The book focuses largely on western fashion and culture. The cultural context pages can be a bit dense, but are packed with great information about how cultural shifts impacted fashion. And the illustrations!


The book contains over 300 illustrations, each accompanied by the artist's name (if available), when and where the illustration was published, and a few sentences about the illustration.


It's an incredible visual resource for anyone interested in illustration or fashion history or people looking for inspiration from historical sources. I, myself, went into it looking for historical costuming inspiration and came out with a few illustrative inspirations for my art classes. Definitely worth checking out!



Stay warm. Stay safe. Stay dry.

Alexandra

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page